Triumph Spitfire 1500 Conversion

General BVS related area
Sio

Triumph Spitfire 1500 Conversion

Postby Sio » Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:04 pm

Hi all,

I live in North West London (in a flat without a garage)

I have had a Triumph Spitfire 1500 (registered in 1981) for over 10 years now.

http://www.classicandperformancecar.com ... p?see=1453

I am a complete novice but have been thinking of converting it to all electric for a while now (to prolong it’s life).

Currently I am trying to raise funds for the project and would like to know a ballpark figure.

I would like the car to have similar performance after the conversion with the range of 100 miles.

Looking at the numerous Youtube vids; most EV conversions are only as good as the batteries so I am going to steer away from lead acid in favour of Lithium Ion (costs permitting).

Even though I know it is not strictly required I would also like to upgrade the suspension and brakes, unfortunately this will mean a start point of £1,300, which will include some structural repairs.

Would anyone in or around London have the experience and necessary skills to help out?

Kind regard,

Sio.

P.s. I have posted this on www.diyelectriccar.com as well.

dargles

Spitfire Conversion

Postby dargles » Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:53 pm

Hi, Sio.
I notice you haven't had a reply yet, so I'll do my usual trick of talking rubbish and giving those who know what they're talking about something to kick against :wink:

I was chatting earlier this week to a guy in Southampton who bought an electric Gentry a while back, but which needs upgrading as it was put together in the 80s with 80s technology, and which burnt out having stood for far too long. In case you've not come across it, the Gentry is a Triumph-based kit car, so he will be well aware of the sort of issues you are facing with your Spit. He also works on a science park opposite some guys who supply many of the big companies for their electric car conversions.