My EV dream

Do you own or use a EV. Then this is a good place to discuss things.
Lazer

My EV dream

Postby Lazer » Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:43 pm

I want to build an EV that wil stand out, and use it for promoting my business.

During the next year I hope to plan the vehicle, save enogh cash for it and start building it late 2008/ early 2009.

I have no EV experience, but as an electronics engineer I should be able to figure things out with a bit of help.

The budget for the project will probably be around £20,000.

The spec is set quite low (80mph+ top speed, 0-60 of 8 seconds or less and 60 miles or more range) as it will be the styling that will make this car stand out.

The car will be along the lines of the wrightspeed X1 EV, though performance will be lower and styling slightly different, but basically a fun car and certainly not your average family car!

I've already decided on the kit car to base the project on - that will cost around £7000 including the donor car.

Batteries would have to be lithiums due to the space and weight.

I'm not sure about motors (1 or 2) and the size - probably looking at about 100hp? and wouldn't know where to start with the controller.

Starting weight would be around 300 to 400kgs, then probably 300kgs of batteries and the motor(s) and controller could bring the total weight to around 800 to 900kgs - what sort of power motor would I need to get the performance I require?

Any comments greatly appeciated.
Rob.

qdos

Postby qdos » Sat Nov 03, 2007 10:03 pm

You could try a Zest I can garuntee it will get lots of attention.

Let me know if you are interested. The final cost will be significantly less than your proposed spend too :) I've also got another vehicle up my sleve you might well be interested in which will be more sporty

What is the business you are wanting to use it to promote?

Lazer

Postby Lazer » Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:13 am