Old BMS Hardware Thread

Threads relating to the BMS system begun by Peter Perkins

Moderators: GregsGarage, retepsnikrep

danmachen
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:26 am

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby danmachen » Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:16 pm

Thanks peter,

I'll program that right away and get back to you asap

danmachen
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:26 am

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby danmachen » Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:33 pm

Hi Peter,

No luck unfortunately! I removed the EEPROM and reprogrammed it

I thought it may have been a config issue, maybe a conflict between pbpro 3 and pbpro 2.6, and there was indeed a change. In pbpro 3 they encourage you to put in a #CONFIG block as oppose to going into the chip reference file in your pbpro folder. but obviously that was only a minor tweak.

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:04 pm

You will have to bring it back this remote diagnosis is almost impossible. :cry:
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

joshp1990
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby joshp1990 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:06 pm

We'll be able to pop down any time from Thursday onwards, if you have any free time yourself.

when is best for you?

isaac_alaska1
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby isaac_alaska1 » Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:24 am

i figured out the eeprom, it was pretty simple to just match up the memory arrangement and speed and order the only one that showed up in the search on mouser. i can post a part number if anyone wants it.

now i'm trying to set up the temp sensor, but i'm away for a while so i can't work on it. i think it's a problem in the software cause i only plugged the serial number in in one place.

but just to make sure,

the temp sensors that i have are "DS18B20+"

is this the right sensor?

thanks!

User avatar
hohisilver
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:17 pm
Location: Wells, Somerset

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby hohisilver » Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:52 pm

The ones I use are DS18B20+ so you do have the correct parts.

There are 5 lines in the PBP code that need the serial number "plugging in", one a few lines down from Start:

'Manual I2C Temp Sensor initiate routine avoids start up temperature errors
owout DigitalTemp,1,[$55,$28,$B9,$11,$16,$01,$00,$00,$A4,$44] 'Start 1st temp sensor conversion

And the other 4 lines are in the CheckI2CTemp subroutine.

Hope this helps
Ian.

A train station is where the train stops. A bus station is where the bus stops. On my desk, I have a work station....

isaac_alaska1
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby isaac_alaska1 » Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:49 pm

thanks! that will help a ton. i don't have the parts in front of me but i'll definitely get on it as soon as i'm back, i took a short break for christmas but i'll be back doing stuff on the 28th.
just out of curiosity, are you using one temp sensor? or two? because i only really need one of them, but i can use 2 just about as easily.

User avatar
hohisilver
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:17 pm
Location: Wells, Somerset

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby hohisilver » Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:44 am

I'm using two and the code is structured to interrogate them alternately, I think it would need to be restructured slightly to only use one. If you've got a second sensor and can find a use for it, why not use two?
Ian.

A train station is where the train stops. A bus station is where the bus stops. On my desk, I have a work station....

danmachen
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:26 am

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby danmachen » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:55 pm

Replaced the EEPROM with this one, couldnt find the one from your master board peter.
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/products/ ... 4E4F4E4526
Cant see why it shouldnt be compatible.

Also, we're really looking more into trying to send our data wirelessly for our racing vehicle, but I am clueless about transmitters,receviers. We'd need range of around 300 meters I would've thought and obviously need to connect to the serial data port on the master board.

danmachen
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:26 am

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Postby danmachen » Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:07 pm



Return to “BMS thread”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests