Axiam Mega Van - Hydrogen Fuel Cell as replacement for the battery

Do you own or use a EV. Then this is a good place to discuss things.
wout991

Axiam Mega Van - Hydrogen Fuel Cell as replacement for the battery

Postby wout991 » Wed May 31, 2017 5:56 pm

Hi folks,
I am just approved to this forum so I hope I got this topic in the right 'subforum'. I am a student at Kingston University and just started with my dissertation. The aim of my dissertation project is to design the replacement system for the battery in a Axiam Mega Van with an Hydrogen Fuel Cell system. To do this I need to know what type of the original battery is. I know there supposed to be 8 or 12 gel batteries in there which I got from datasheets on this website http://www.megavan.org/mega-van.htm. But the datasheet doesn't say which type. Can anyone maybe tell me what type is of the original battery pack? I need it to figure out what the dimensions, capacity, charge current, discharge current, well basically all characteristics of the battery will be for my Hydrogen Fuel Cell system.

The car is actually located at our campus, but I don't have access to the car until next week and want to continue working on it during the weekend.

Thanks for any help!
Wout

wout991

Re: Axiam Mega Van - Hydrogen Fuel Cell as replacement for the battery

Postby wout991 » Fri Jun 02, 2017 10:15 am

Hi all,
I had contact with http://www.rossefield-aixam.co.uk/ who were able to help me get the standard type of battery:
ABT 6-DM-76 (http://www.abtbatt.com/PDF/6-DM-76.pdf). I am quite happy with this! But the following problem is how the batteries are located in the Mega Van. I assume it will be in order of 4 x 3 (with 12 batteries), which total dimensions of the battery pack makes 696mm x 795mm x 226mm (L x W x H). But it would be even better if I knew the exact dimensions of the available battery storage in the Mega Van.