Old BMS Software Thread

Threads relating to the BMS system begun by Peter Perkins

Moderators: GregsGarage, retepsnikrep

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:35 pm

Two working versions of the Master software 8)

Picaxe Master http://www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PICAXE_MA ... 00BAUD.txt

PbPro Master http://www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_MASTE ... UD_I2C.txt
PbPro Master http://www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_MASTE ... UD_I2C.hex

They have nearly identical features except the PbPro Master does not have the selectable Master Bus 2400-9600 baud speed, it is fixed in the software at 9600 baud. This saves a bit of space as the PbPro software is larger than the Picaxe versions so some economies are required. The software could be recompilied for 2400 baud if reqd for a specific system.

The available commands are.

Command 01 = Send Cell Voltage on Master Bus
Command 02 = Turn Off Slave Load
Command 03 = Turn On Slave Loads as Required
Command 04 = Increase Load CutIn Voltage by 10mv
Command 05 = Decrease Load CutIn Voltage by 10mv
Command 06 = Increase Load CutOut Voltage by 10mv
Command 07 = Decrease Load CutOut Voltage by 10mv
Command 08 = Set Slave Load CutIn/CutOut Voltage Defaults
Command 09 = Turn On Slave Load for 0.5 seconds (Flashes Led)
Command 10 = Set Baud rate to 9600bps * Note not supported in Pbpro Master (Fixed at 9600 baud)
Command 11 = Set Baud rate to 2400bps * Note not supported in Pbpro Master
Command 12 = Report Slave Software Version Number
Command 13 = Set Slave to Normal mode (1.3ms pulse)
Command 14 = Set Slave to Enhanced mode (1.4ms pulse)


I'm going to concentrate mainly on the PbPro software from now on.

Youtube video showing latest PbPro Master Software.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUnBrgGR8cg

Edit

Two more commands (13 and 14) added to the slave software.

Normal mode should be used for the single cell slave boards, and can be tried on multi slave boards when first installed as it is the default setting for the slave software. It basically operates as the old software used too with the slaves managing the load on/off control. It disables commands 2 and 3 and controls the load itself based on cutin and cutout voltages as usual.

Enhanced mode enables commands 2 and 3 and disables the slaves own control of the loads (except the fail safe cut off point). This is the mode to use if you suffer from the voltage drop issue and shared cell wires causing adjacent slaves to interfere with each other.

www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_SLAVE_Pulse_V02_010710.txt
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_SLAVE_Pulse_V02_010710.hex
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Fri Jul 02, 2010 9:07 am

Resolved issue with some outputs not in correct state on BMS startup. :)

www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_MASTER_8MHZ_ ... UD_I2C.txt
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_MASTER_8MHZ_ ... UD_I2C.hex

This seems to work well combined with slave software from previous post above.
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:29 am

Slave Software

Six more commands added.

' Command 15 = Increase Delay Time by 1ms (Max 10ms) (1.5ms pulse)
' Command 16 = Decrease Delay Time by 1ms (Min 0ms) (1.6ms pulse)
' Command 17 = Set Default Delay Time (2ms) (1.7ms pulse)

' Command 18 = Increase FailSafe Cut Off Voltage by 5mv (1.8ms pulse)
' Command 19 = Decrease FailSafe Cut Off Voltage by 5mv (1.9ms pulse)
' Command 20 = Set FailSafe Cut Off Voltage to Default 3.40V (2.0ms pulse)

Delay is a variable used by the slave software to determine the length of the interupt pulse that is sent to grab the attention of the next slave. This can now be varied between 0-10ms. So you can experiment with reducing/increasing this as you wish.

Shorter delays give a faster Slave response, and for 50 slaves with every 1ms reduction in the Delay you save 50ms in cell scanning time, and vice versa of course.

If the slaves fail to respond because of your tinkering with this setting you can unplug them from the cells and they will reset to the default Delay of 2ms

FailSafe Load cut off voltage is pretty self explanatory and is the voltage below which the Slave overides the Master in relation to Load control to prevent over discharge.

Master Software

Resolved issue with I2C temp error on startup

Software to be uploaded later.
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

steiner
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:50 am
Location: Florida

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby steiner » Mon Jul 05, 2010 3:35 pm

Peter,

I was looking through some old posts and saw where you were thinking about converting the remote display software to run on a standard pic instead of the picaxe. Did you ever do this? I am finally getting my remote display system going but I have run out of 08x picaxe chips but I have plenty of the standard pic 12F683 chips. I started converting the software myself but began to wonder if I was doing something you had already finished.


Rick

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:34 pm

steiner wrote:Peter,

I was looking through some old posts and saw where you were thinking about converting the remote display software to run on a standard pic instead of the picaxe. Did you ever do this? I am finally getting my remote display system going but I have run out of 08x picaxe chips but I have plenty of the standard pic 12F683 chips. I started converting the software myself but began to wonder if I was doing something you had already finished.


Rick



Have a go by all means. At least a month or so i think before I get round to looking at it again.
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Mon Jul 05, 2010 6:45 pm

Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

martinwinlow
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Herts, UK

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby martinwinlow » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:31 pm

Peter,

Can you advise me what version of software I should be using for the Master (picaxe), slave (pic) and watchdog (pic)? I am getting very lost! Or should I give up on the picaxe master IC and go pic? If so, can I use the picaxe chip (I gather it is non reversable conversion if I do?)

Tried the slave board with just one cell attached and all that happens is the led comes on and the load resistor gets hot. Is there a way of testing it without connecting it to the master pcb? This is with PBP_SLAVE_Pulse_V02_010710.hex loaded.

Once I get the latest, correct software loaded, I'll have another go.

Martin.
Regards, Martin Winlow
Herts, UK
http://www.evalbum.com/2092
www.winlow.co.uk

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Thu Jul 08, 2010 7:09 am

Martin I would not overwrite you picaxe master chip, get a seperate plain 16F886 pic if you want to keep up with any further developments with the plain pic code.

The latest PICAXE Master code is
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PICAXE_MASTER_8M ... 00BAUD.txt

The latest PIC Slave code is
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_SLAVE_Pulse_V05_070710.txt
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/PBP_SLAVE_Pulse_V05_070710.hex

The latest PIC Watchdog code is
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/Watchdog12F683_110610_V02.txt
www.solarvan.co.uk/bms/Watchdog12F683_110610_V02.hex

What is the voltage of your three nicad batteries in series?

Is it over the cell load turn on voltage threshold CUTINV (3.65v)?

Is the master communicating with the slave?
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.

martinwinlow
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Herts, UK

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby martinwinlow » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:12 pm

Peter, Thanks for clearing that up.

Yes, the combined simulated 1 cell voltage is 3.9V so that is why the load resistor is coming on I guess.

I have changed the master.txt file to cope with the one slave I currently have connected for testing as follows:
symbol Cells = 1
symbol MaxPackVoltage = 4500
symbol MinPackVoltage = 3000
symbol AbsMaxCellVoltage = 450
symbol AbsMinCellVoltage = 220
symbol MaxCellVoltage = 410
symbol MinCellVoltage = 230
symbol CutInVD = 405
symbol CutOutVD = 400

... and I gather I must change matching values in the slave txt files, too.

I also understand that we are now using the EEprom IC - will it cause problems if it is not connected? I have one on its way...

I won't kno if master is communicating with slave till I get it all programmed again and test it. But in the meantime, what's the easiest way to tell?

Regards, Martin.
Regards, Martin Winlow
Herts, UK
http://www.evalbum.com/2092
www.winlow.co.uk

User avatar
retepsnikrep
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:50 pm
Location: North Yorkshire England
Contact:

Re: Old BMS Software Thread

Postby retepsnikrep » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:00 pm

martin

I would leave all the settings alone apart from the number of cells in the Master software.

You can't change the slave anyway as the software would have to be re-compiled.

I suggest use only two nicad batteries which will put the cell into the normal range.

The eeprom should not make any difference.
Regards Peter

Two MK1 Honda Insight's. One running 20ah A123 Lithium pack. One 8ah BetterBattery Nimh pack.
One HCH1 Civic Hybrid running 60ah A123 Lithium pack.


Return to “BMS thread”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests